How I dealt with it

First, I took a deep breath and tried to understand what had happened. I tried to understand what was going on and why it happened. I tried to understand why so many amazing people got laid off and why it wasn't happening to me.

Even though I was not directly affected by the layoffs, I was still affected by them. I was still affected by the fact that I could not help my friends, and I would not be able to see them daily anymore.

I'm not going to lie; I'm not feeling great. I'm not feeling great because I'm missing my friends, my team, and the people I've been working with for the past year and some months.

But I'm trying to be positive and look at the bright side of things.

That's why I decided to write this post, share my experience with you, and share my thoughts on navigating through this if you ever find yourself in a similar situation.

How to help your friends

The first thing I did was, actually, nothing. I didn't do anything. I didn't do anything because I didn't know what to do. I didn't know what was going to happen from now on. And that was probably the same way my friends were feeling. So, just let them wrap their heads around it and take the time they need to process it. We would have a last EOD meeting, and I would be there for them. I was going to be there for them to talk to, to listen to, and to try and navigate through this together.

After the meeting, where we had some time to talk, I decided to send them a message on Slack and thank them for everything they've done for the team and me. I thanked them for being the best team I've ever worked with.

From there, it was a matter of just being there for them. Get their phone numbers, and keep in touch.

And then it hit me; I had all this appreciation for them, and I wanted to share it with the world because I wanted to tell everyone how amazing they are and how they'd improve any team they'd be part of.

I wrote them a recommendation on LinkedIn, which was an excellent way to let them know how much I appreciated them, and the time we spent together. Plus, it would help them find their next opportunity.

So far, that's all, and I'm feeling better about it because from now on, I will be able to keep in touch with them and keep them in my life.


A letter of appreciation to my friends

I can't thank you enough for everything you've done for me, but it won't be for lack of trying.

Pun intended.

The team has changed quite a bit since my first day at TryNow. However, you've managed to make us have the best chemistry, inner jokes, and fun activities that always had everyone laughing, learning, and enjoying each other company, even on crazy and busy days.

Nothing stays the same, and that's something that has always frightened me. But you've helped me overcome those unexpected challenges and embrace them as they come.

And I haven't always been this confident about it; I remember being anxious before implementation started, getting worried about what the tech stack might be, and wondering if I could even manage to get the project to the finish line within the estimated time I requested for development.

It's tough to say goodbye to you because it is a decision that was out of your hands. It was always something extraordinary with you, as you taught me how to navigate around unknown terrain and kept me on my toes with a merchant's ever-changing projects, and just making part of a team that always gives its best and trusts each other will do the same.

You all went above and beyond at every turn, and I'm deeply grateful for meeting people as striking and unique as you are.

I can't stop feeling sad about it, and at the same time, I'm trying to be positive and look at the bright side of things.

And this is not a goodbye; it's a see you later. I'm sure we'll meet again, and I'm sure we'll be in touch.

I take a lot from you with me, pieces of every one of you that I will forever cherish and try to share with every person I interact with, hoping I can make such a positive impact on someone's life, just like you did with me.